Theme: Blue and Green Theme: Blue and Green Theme: Red Theme: Green
The Official Website of
Padawan Municipal Council

‘318 new faces among 765 on councillors’ list in Sarawak’
Posted on : 03 Aug 2019  Source of News:

Dr Sim shows the list of new and reappointed councillors.

KUCHING: The new list of councillors for the 24 local councils throughout Sarawak is now ready after it was endorsed by Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud on Thursday.

According to Local Government and Housing Minister Datuk Dr Sim Kui Hian, there are 765 councillors in the list, including 318 new faces.

He also disclosed that Batu Kitang assemblyman Lo Khere Chiang would be reappointed as chairman of Padawan Municipal Council (MPP), following a decision made during a state cabinet meeting on July 11.

“Those in the list of councillors have been informed to accept their appointments before July 31. They must let go of any other government appointments before accepting their post as councillors.

“The final list of councillors (upon acceptance of appointments) will be out on July 31,” he told reporters
after officiating at an event in SJK Chung Hua No 3 here yesterday.

Dr Sim, who is Batu Kawah assemblyman, also said those who accepted their appointments must attend a workshop in Kuching before signing their appointment letters.

In a meeting called on July 11, the Sarawak cabinet approved the list of councillors for all 24 local councils, which does not include any representative from Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB).

It is learnt that the allocation of councillors is now divided among the four component parties of Sarawak’s ruling coalition Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), namely Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

With PSB – formerly known as United People’s Party (UPP) – not included in the list of councillors, it means that the post of Sibu Municipal Council (SMC) would have to go to another party.

Prior to the end of the councillors’ term on June 30, Dudong assemblyman Datuk Tiong Thai King was the SMC chairman – a post that he had held for 15 years, starting from when he was still in SUPP.

Tiong is now PSB senior vice-president.

Councillors are political appointees, and they serve a term of two years although this could be extended to a maximum of one year.

They can also be reappointed for the next term.

Each local authority in Sarawak has a maximum of 32 councillors. Some of the council chairman’s posts are given by default to the district officer appointed by the government, while some are appointed from the political parties.

In the case of Kuching City South Council (MBKS), its chairman – or mayor – is currently a non-political appointee Dato James Chan, whose tenure would expire on Aug 31.